Political Networks Conference (POLNET)

Political Networks

The 2020 APSA Political Networks Section

13th Annual Political Networks Conference and Workshops

May 28 - 30, 2020

University of Massachusetts

Amherst, Massachusetts

The Department of Political Science at the University of Massachusetts Amherst will host the 13th Annual Political Networks Conference and Workshops on May 28 - 30, 2020. All workshops and panels will be held in the state-of-the-art Integrative Learning Center in the center of campus. Additional events will be held at the recently-renovated historic Old Chapel and the Amherst Room, which is on the tenth floor of the Campus Center, the same building that houses the conference hotel, Hotel UMass.

The conference will commence on Thursday, May 28 with one day of training workshops, with several intermediate and advanced topics on the application of network analysis to politics and policy. These workshops are organized by the Political Networks section of the American Political Science Association. There will also be an "absolute beginners" workshop offered by the Institute for Social Science Research on Wednesday, May 27, the day before the conference. Further details will be posted here as soon as they become available.

Following the workshops, all conference attendees are invited to an evening welcome reception and plenary talk on Thursday, May 28. Information about the keynote speaker will be posted when available.

Panels will begin on Friday, May 29 and conclude after lunch on Saturday, May 30. In addition to panels, there will be the the traditional mentoring lunch and poster session on Friday, May 29. A conference application form, for submitting an individual poster or paper proposal or an organized panel, can be found in the Call for Papers link on the left.

Conference Hosts: Justin Gross, Meredith Rolfe, and Kevin Young (University of Massachusetts Amherst)

Program Chairs: Rebecca Blum (Miami University of Ohio) and Olga Chyzh (Iowa State University)

Please contact polinetworksconference@gmail.com for any inquiries about the conference.

PolNet 2020 is supported by the generous contributions of our UMASS Amherst sponsors: