Call for Papers

The Fifteenth Annual Political Networks Conference and Workshops, extended virtual format, will be held June 13th–July 15th, 2022, hosted by The University of Iowa.

Sponsored by the Department of Political Science at UIowa, PolNet XV will feature one week of workshops and four weeks of panels, with each week including approximately four 1.5-hour panels. Each panel will include up to four presentations. The program committee and host are pleased to invite proposal submissions. This year PolNet is continuing last year’s move from a program designed by two program co-chairs, to a program selected by a large program committee.

For full consideration, proposals must be submitted by Monday, April 11th, 2022. Decisions regarding proposals will be announced by May 12th, 2022. Once proposals have been accepted, a conference organizer will coordinate with panelists to find a day and time that works. The panel dates and times will be finalized by June 6th, 2022. The final program will be announced publicly by June 10th, 2022.

To submit a paper proposal, please submit a title and abstract of no more than 350 words on the submission form: Submission Form

We seek proposals for papers that engage in rigorous theoretical and/or empirical research on the application of networks to politics, public policy, and public administration. We also welcome contributions that develop novel methodological approaches to the analysis of political networks. We aim to have a conference that represents research from a broad range of subfields and methodologies, and submissions are encouraged from scholars in political science or related disciplines including sociology, communication, psychology, public policy, and computer science.

Program Committee Members:

  • Carlos Algara, Claremont Graduate University

  • Lisa Argyle, Brigham Young University

  • Christine Bricker

  • Naim Bro, Millennium Institute Foundational Research on Data

  • Elizabeth Connors, University of South Carolina

  • Bryce Dietrich, University of Iowa

  • Pilar Elizalde, London School of Economics and Political Science

  • Margaret Foster, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

  • Lorien Jasny, University of Exeter

  • Yooneui Kim, Bentley College & Texas Tech University

  • Abigail Matthews, University at Buffalo

  • Elizabeth Menninga, University of Iowa

  • Periloux Peay, Georgia State University

  • Erin Rossiter, University of Notre Dame

  • Matthew Simonson, University of Pennsylvania

  • Omer Yalcin, University of Massachusetts Amherst

University of Iowa Host

Elizabeth Menninga,